One of Us Is Lying

32571395.jpg

Author: Karen M. McManus

Published: May 20th 2017 by Delacorte Press

Rating: ★★★★☆

Date Read: July 8-10, 2017

goodreads

 

head1One of Us Is Lying is the story of what happens when five strangers walk into detention and only four walk out alive. Everyone is a suspect, and everyone has something to hide.

Pay close attention and you might solve this.

On Monday afternoon, five students at Bayview High walk into detention.
Bronwyn, the brain, is Yale-bound and never breaks a rule.
Addy, the beauty, is the picture-perfect homecoming princess.
Nate, the criminal, is already on probation for dealing.
Cooper, the athlete, is the all-star baseball pitcher.
And Simon, the outcast, is the creator of Bayview High’s notorious gossip app.

Only, Simon never makes it out of that classroom. Before the end of detention Simon’s dead. And according to investigators, his death wasn’t an accident. On Monday, he died. But on Tuesday, he’d planned to post juicy reveals about all four of his high-profile classmates, which makes all four of them suspects in his murder. Or are they the perfect patsies for a killer who’s still on the loose?

Everyone has secrets, right? What really matters is how far you would go to protect them.

head2

“Things’ll get worse before they get better. Well, they surely did get worse, and now there’s nowhere to go but up.”

I saw this book all over Twitter so I checked it on Goodreads, and the blurb got me. I know I had to buy a copy and read it.

The story is told in multiple POVs: Bronwyn’s, Nate’s, Addy’s, and Cooper’s. It made me see through the characters and understand them more and you’ll be surprised. Sometimes, what’s inside their mind leads me to conclude that they were the ‘one who’s lying,’ but then there were also times I feel that they would not do anything to hurt someone.

Another thing that I like on this book is the character development. They were stereotypes but you will learn that there is more to each of them, and they learned how to accept themselves. I like that they also developed friendship with each other. Alsoooo, there is a love story!!! It surprised me because among the mystery and thriller books, only few has love stories in it.

I love Karen’s writing style and how she pulled off the twist! The pacing is great, you will feel that there is development on every turn. It won’t make you stop reading. AND THAT’S WHAT I LOVE WITH BOOKS.

The book is not what I expected but I like it. Maybe it did not gave me the thrill and suspense I am expecting but it showed me true friendship and accepting one’s self.

I’m glad that this book has a touch of diversity.

head4

2 thoughts on “One of Us Is Lying

Leave a Reply

