The Stranger Game

28925213

Author: Cylin Busby

To be published: October 25th 2016 by Balzer + Bray (HarperCollins Imprint)

Rating: ★★★★★ (4.5)

Date Read: October 13th, 2016

*The ARC from Epic Reads was given by National Book Store

The Stranger Game

 

head1The Stranger Game is a dark, suspenseful, and twisty young adult novel—perfect for fans of Lauren Oliver and E. Lockhart—about fifteen-year-old Nico Walker, whose sister returns home after a four-year disappearance.

When Nico Walker’s older sister mysteriously disappears, her parents, family, and friends are devastated. But Nico can never admit what she herself feels: relief at finally being free of Sarah’s daily cruelties.

Then the best and worst thing happens: four years later, after dozens of false leads, Sarah is found.

But this girl is much changed from the one Nico knew. She’s thin and drawn, where Sarah had been golden and athletic; timid and unsure, instead of brash and competitive; and strangest of all, sweet and kind, when she had once been mean and abusive. Sarah’s retrograde amnesia has caused her to forget almost everything about her life, from small things like the plots of her favorite books and her tennis game to the more critical—where she’s been the last four years and what happened at the park on the fateful day she vanished. Despite the happy ending, the dark details of that day continue to haunt Nico, and it becomes clear that more than one person knows the true story of what happened to Sarah. . . .

head2

“The more you tell yourself a lie, the more you believe it, until finally, it becomes your truth.”

 THIS BOOK REALLY CREEPED ME OUT! I literally could not put it down because I got so curious with the mystery that this book carries. I began creating my own theories and predictions as I started this book, but it kept me in circles. There were more than one twist, and they made me dumbfounded as I discovered them.

I love the writing style, the author did not gave much on the first half of the book so you will really keep reading until you find out. The were some chapters that has two narrators or point of view, it will also add more circles and curiosity while you read it.

I like the characters, no unlikeable traits. Though based on Nico’s narration, Sarah, her sister, was so mean to her before disappearing like she bullies her because of her weight, and I don’t favor that kind of behavior towards siblings. There were some characters that will surprise you at the end, and they left me with questions. I like that this book highlighted family ties more than friendship.

Also, to add more eerie feeling: this book was inspired by a true mystery case. Definitely enjoyed this book! This is the kind of mystery that we should all read!!!

head4

Advertisements

5 thoughts on “The Stranger Game

  1. Pingback: October Wrap-Up

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s