It Ends With Us

iewu

Author: Colleen Hoover

Published: August 2nd, 2016 by Atria Books

Rating: ★★★★★ (4.5)

Date Read: August 27-29, 2016

It Ends with Us

 

 

 

head1Lily hasn’t always had it easy, but that’s never stopped her from working hard for the life she wants. She’s come a long way from the small town in Maine where she grew up – she graduated from college, moved to Boston, and started her own business. So when she feels a spark with a gorgeous neurosurgeon named Ryle Kincaid, everything in Lily’s life suddenly seems almost too good to be true.

Ryle is assertive, stubborn, and maybe even a little arrogant. He’s also sensitive, brilliant, and has a total soft spot for Lily, but Ryle’s complete aversion to relationships is disturbing.

As questions about her new relationship overwhelm her, so do thoughts of Atlas Corrigan – her first love and a link to the past she left behind. He was her kindred spirit, her protector. When Atlas suddenly reappears, everything Lily has built with Ryle is threatened.

With this bold and deeply personal novel, Colleen Hoover delivers a heart-wrenching story that breaks exciting new ground for her as a writer. It Ends With Us is an unforgettable tale of love that comes at the ultimate price.

This book contains graphic scenes and very sensitive subject matter.

head2

This. Left. Me. Speechless. Well, just regarding what I felt and been feeling since I finished the book. But I kept talking about it on my Twitter, and I even told the story to my boyfriend and friends. I finished it a couple of days ago, and the emotions it caused me is still here. I still feel the pain and the sadness. Everywhere I go, and whatever I do, there are things that remind me of this book. I just can’t get it out of my head.

This was a highly anticipated read for the month of August, and was rated 5 stars by most of the people who read it. I was afraid to read it at first because I got pressured from all the ‘good lucks,’ ‘you’ll love it,’ and *hands tissue* comments of my friends in the book community.

“There is no such thing as bad people. We’re all just people who sometimes do bad things.”

Let me talk about the characters first, they are all easy to love and I got attached with them and I think it is one of the reasons why I got hurt that much. I want to meet each of them and hug them one by one. 😦 Lily Bloom, the main female character, is a down-to-earth person with a kind heart. She is strong, brave and bold. Also, I can relate because she is engaged in the world of business. 😉 Ryle Kincaid, hot and workaholic neurosurgeon with commitment issues that changed when he met Lily. He made me think of Christian Grey on the first few chapters because they have many similarities. Atlas Corrigan, Lily’s first love and he is so perfect. As the blurb says, he is Lily’s protector. Allysa & Marshall, these two are so cute as a couple! They are fun to be with, and it’s a good thing that they are there. The characters are perfectly imperfect and their own ways. I really love how Colleen makes every character special.

“Sometimes an unexpected wave comes along, sucks you up and refuses to spit you back out.”

Now, let’s talk about the story… Before I read this book, I knew that it would tackle a sensitive issue that some women and families have faced and are facing today because I saw a thread on Twitter (*blames myself*). What is beyond my knowledge is how it is going to be presented on the book and not only that will break my heart. My heart was torn apart a lot of times. I know, it’s savage. Another roller-coaster of emotions from Colleen Hoover. But don’t fret because the book delivered the message it intends to with a huge impact. It is eye-opening.

“But sometimes the things that matter to you the most are also the things that hurt you the most. And in order to get over that hurt, you have to sever all the extensions that keep you tethered to that pain.”

This is different from the author’s other books because it is a personal one. Reading this is torture but you just can’t put it down because you will get attached to it. It hurt me big time but I just can’t get enough of it. After 4 days that I’ve finished it, I can still feel the emotions it brought to me. Happiness, love, anger, pain, pity… And with that, I know that this book will stay in my heart forever. ❤

“This is just human nature, healing an open wound to prepare for a fresh new layer.”

This is strongly recommended to women. 🙂 It is worth all the emotions that you will feel, I swear. I even reread this just now, for 4 hours. Can’t get enough it.
head4

18 thoughts on “It Ends With Us

  1. NicoleLynn says:

    Such an awesome review! You’re right this book has all the feels and you nailed the characters! I can’t wait to finish this and come back and let you know more of my thoughts 😊

    Like

    • MISH says:

      I need to let my emotions out. Haha. It has that eye-opening message to its readers and it is a really powerful read. Aww, good to know! 🙂 All her books can make a person emotional.

      Like

  2. Reg @ She Latitude says:

    I’ve actually never read a Colleen Hoover before and NA isn’t my usual genre, but the praises for this book have been OVERWHELMING, and I’m sooo intrigued. I have a few ideas of what the ~big story~ is but I also don’t want to know since I’ve resolved to pick up this book eventually and see it for myself. Your comments about it being a worth read for women are encouraging, and I hope that I end up liking it as much as you have! 😘

    Like

  3. Pingback: August Wrap-Up
  4. bookishafterthoughts says:

    Love your review ❤ I have pretty much the same views as you which I talked about in my review but I think the thing you said that I 100% agree with and think everyone should know is how much of an eye-opener this book is. Again, absolutely loved this review 🙂

    Like

  5. imfictionallyyours says:

    Ugh, grabe! You giving me the “goodluck”, “mabigat pero you’ll love it.” words were like prelude to the pain pero nothing can prepare you for the pain that it brings. Ugh!! 😭

    Love the review, I absolutely agree with you on everything!

    Like

  6. Melissa @ BookNerdMomo says:

    THIS BOOK! I felt the same things as your for days and even beyond that. I ended up writing a vague review and then doing a completely spoiler filled discussion in a separate post because I couldn’t stop thinking about it. It’s definitely a book that will stay with my heart forever as well. Lovely review and blog! ♥

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

