Author Q&A: Saba Kapur

saba

Author: Saba Kapur

Book: Lucky Me (Review here)

Lucky Me is her debut novel which will be published on April 2016. It’s a novel that girly girls who loves mysteries should read! Pre-order now!

*I did not include short info about Saba since it’s on the first question. 🙂

head6

  • Tell us a bit about yourself!

Hi there! I’m Saba and I’m a nineteen-year-old author, currently living in Melbourne, Australia. I’m in my last year of college, studying Criminology and International Relations, and I’m hoping to practice law in the future. Here are some fun facts about me. I really only like milk chocolate, I’m still trying to convince my parents to buy me a puppy, and I’m secretly Beyoncé’s long-lost little sister. Okay, I lied a little. I’ll eat white chocolate sometimes too. Also, a couple of years ago I wrote a Young Adult romantic, mystery novel, Lucky Me, which comes out on April 5th this year. If you want a totally unbiased opinion, I happen to think it’s pretty great.

  • What are your other hobbies?

Although I enjoy writing, I have a true love for readings books of all genres. A good book can truly change your life. I also love watching all kinds of movies, and not just the ones with George Clooney. Although, admittedly, those are all great. I’m so fascinated with art on screen, and the amazing way stories are told through cinema. There’s something magical about it all!

  • What/who motivated you to write Lucky Me?

Lucky Me came from various inspirations. I really wanted to write a novel that would appeal to a young generation, and the ideas of Hollywood and fame just seemed to be the relevant. More importantly, I wanted to write a book that I myself would love to read. Comedy, mystery and romance have always been my favourite genres. I had to include those elements into my own book, as I feel that it makes up so much of my personality. But my parents, my sister and my best friend take all the credit for encouraging me to actually write the novel. They watched me annoyingly obsess over every detail without ever throwing me out of the house, so they deserve a special round of applause.

  • Who is/are your favourite authors?

Janet Evanovich is one of my all time favourite authors, because she really introduced me to the world of romance and mystery novels. I own just about every book she’s written and never get tired of re-reading them. The same goes for Meg Cabot and Sophie Kinsella, who are true masters in the art of romantic comedies. That being said, I can’t ignore the amazing J.K. Rowling. The Harry Potter novels were the first books I ever read without giving up out of boredom, and they really ignited my love affair with books.

  • Are you writing another book for us, your readers?

I am indeed! I’m in the middle of writing the sequel to Lucky Me, which is a lot of fun! Gia’s life has really changed after the first novel, and she’s trying to find the balance between being a celebrity and also being a “normal” college student. Of course, she always finds a way to land herself into trouble!

  • Is there something you’d like to say to young, aspiring authors?

I’m going to sound a little like a fridge magnet here, but you really should just believe that you’re good enough. People don’t realise just how tough writing can be, and it’s easy to lose faith in your work or be discouraged when things just aren’t turning out the way you want. But you have to believe that if it’s something you’re truly passionate about then a little extra time and effort is always worth it! That being said, I will happily eat a plate of tacos while sitting in bed, so I can hardly be considered a life expert. Take this advice with a grain of salt (or maybe even a taco).

head7

head4

Leave a Reply

