Book Review: What Comes of Eating Doughnuts…

wcoed

Title: What Comes of Eating Doughnuts with a Boy Who Plays Guitar

Author: Nicole Campbell

Published: June 19, 2015 by CreateSpace Independent Publishing Platform

Rating: ★★★

Date Read: January 22-30, 2016

I received a free copy in exchange for an honest review. 🙂

head1Courtney Ross has lived her whole life doing everything by the book. She’s a top student, the captain of the cheer squad at her Scottsdale high school, and a nervous wreck most of the time. For summer vacation before senior year, she finally has her chance just to relax. She will be spending it with her best friend, Vanessa, in her tiny hometown of Gem City, Ohio. Courtney’s hoping for a chance to breathe, and maybe even for some of Vanessa’s carefree nature to rub off on her. What she doesn’t expect is Ethan Fisher. Courtney knows she’s in trouble the minute she sees him holding a guitar at her “Welcome Back” party. Her instincts prove to be correct as she gets to know him, and she finds her head spinning. What will this mean for the girl who always plays by the rules?

In her first full-length novel, Nicole Campbell delivers a perfect beach read for the older Young Adult crowd. Readers will re-live their first relationships (the good, the bad, and the overwhelming), or imagine the spark of what the future might hold in this story full of the type of intensity only found in young love.

Due to mature themes and mild language, recommended for readers 16+
head2A bittersweet love story!

At first, I never thought that I will be able to finish this book. Because, first of all, the organization of paragraphs and the conversations are quite confusing. Also, the speaker is in third person and I think it would be better if first person was used.

Things happened so fast, especially between Courtney and Ethan. There was no excitement on how they met and the things that happened between them. Courtney also became the ‘liberated’ kind of girl afterwards. She seemed to give herself too much. But maybe it’s because she’s a teenager. Or nah.

On the good side, I like how this story reminded me of my high school experiences in love. You knooooow, first love and first heartache. I also like that Ethan and Courtney talks about the things that should be talk about when it comes to relationships. I also admire Courtney for being able to share her feelings to her mom.

Alsoooo, it’s good that the author suggested some tracks to be played every chapter though I didn’t tried to play them but I know the songs fit the chapters.

This has a potential to be better. Plot is good, and the characters. But I don’t really like Courtney though. The title is also too long. Btw, I like the cover and its significance! ❤
head3“I am in love with you. Like crazy in love with you, and I don’t want to be with anyone else, ok? No matter how far away you are.”

“…but it makes me like, insane to think of you smiling at another guy like you smile at me.”

“You can’t be the person breaking my heart, and worry if I’m ok at the same time.”

head4

 

One thought on “Book Review: What Comes of Eating Doughnuts…

Leave a Reply

